Warped neck in kit

Solid wood and laminates -- carving process, dimensional concerns, shape preferences
ken tucson

Warped neck in kit

Post by ken tucson » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:06 pm

Some time in the last couple of years I came upon a Martin kit for a 000-1 that was mostly unassembled. From what I’ve read, the 000-1 was a less expensive model with laminated sides and abbreviated top bracing which was marketed between 1995 and 2005(?). This kit was purchased in 2001, I believe, so has sat in the box for more than 15 years.
To the problem: The neck (mahogany, low profile) has developed a warp to back and a slight twist. I hope you can see the extent of the warp from the pictures.

Can I remove this warp during the processes of gluing in the truss rod and laminating on the rosewood fingerboard?

Or should I try to steam the neck straight or even to a “relief” condition before assembly?

I am very new to this art of guitar building but not to woodworking. I have learned so much from the generous and helpful posts on this forum. Any input will be greatly appreciated.
Ken

ken cierp

Re: Warped neck in kit

Post by ken cierp » Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:14 pm

Welcome!

Discard -- or be prepared for a lifetime of set-up problems. $.02

peter havriluk

Post by peter havriluk » Tue Mar 21, 2017 8:31 pm

Ken, what would be wrong with planning the neck flat and taking a look after that? Seems like a few passes on a planer/jointer would tell the tale. I think neck woods don't always come off the billet dead-flat, anyway. But I'd like to put my question into the discussion.

Thanks very much.
Peter Havriluk

ken tucson

Post by ken tucson » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:09 pm

Hey, thanks for the replies, gentlemen.
To tell the truth, I don't like the idea of spending more money on another neck for a kit that in the end will only yield a laminated guitar. (Though I have come across some people who really like their 000-1)