Questions about using mega mold for contouring back rim

Solid or Laminated sides? Ribbon lining style (kerfing) - rim profiling, contouring and the logic for those choices
Jerry_C

Questions about using mega mold for contouring back rim

Post by Jerry_C » Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:20 pm

Dear All,
I am a first time builder using KMG mega mold. It has been really fun building this kit.
Currently, I am working on contouring the back rims and I have run into some confusing situation.
I am not sure what I have done wrong and I would like to ask for your advice and comments.

PS, I took these photos after I have already tried contouring the blocks and the rims.

First, I installed the spindle at the center of the body.
Then I use the height adjuster screws on the mega mold to raise the neck block side of the mega mold base.
After raising it, the height of the rim around the tail block and the neck block are leveled.
ImageImage

Then I flipped the abrasive bar. The 15' radius bar is in contact with the rim at the tail block side, but the bar is not in contact with the rim at the neck block side.
ImageImage
I could see a gap between the abrasive bar and the rim.

I am not sure what I have done wrong in this process. I am certain that I have not removed too much material, because I have not sanded to the original profiled side yet.

What would you recommend me to do? Should I raise the mega mold at the neck block side even more?

Another question is:
I have observed that when I rotate the abrasive bar to sand the rims, the whole bar does raise up as I rotate it.
I am not sure whether I can explain this clearly.
As I rotate the bar, the position/height of the whole bar keeps raising up and coming down.
Is this what it is supposed to be?

Thank you so much in advance.
Jerry
Last edited by Jerry_C on Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dave Bagwill

Re: Questions about using mega mold for contouring back rim

Post by Dave Bagwill » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:06 am