Top flattening after braces

Wood choice logic, brace shapes, braces patterns -- what and why for the "heart of the guitar"
Dan Austin

Top flattening after braces

Post by Dan Austin » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:46 pm

Thanks very much for all of the great information that I have received from this forum. I am recently registered and this is my first post. I am a beginner working on my first guitars.

I glued my top together (very tight grained Sitka Spruce), installed the rosette, cut out the sound hole, made the braces (Sitka Spruce also), and glued the braces, with the exception of the bridge plate. The primary braces all have a 28 foot radius and after glueing the braces, the top took on and held that radius. After carving the braces however, the top basically wend back to flat. I do not think that I took too much material from the braces but suppose that this is one of the only reasons that this would happen. I am following a plan and have thus far stayed true to it relative to all dimensions. By the way, this is a J-185.

So I was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback on what I observed and if this is normal or not. Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Herman

Re: Top flattening out after carving braces

Post by Herman » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:52 pm

Hey Dan,
First suspect is humidity. If it lowers, the top dries and shrinks. The braces can't follow that movement, so the top flattens out and can even get a concave shape.
Raise the humidity and see if the radius returns.

Good luck,
Herman

ken cierp

Post by ken cierp » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:52 pm

Hi Dan,

Welcome!

Are you working in a humidity controlled shop?

Dan Austin

Post by Dan Austin » Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:09 pm

Hello gents, thanks for the welcome.